Golden Suns drop pair of matches on opening day

ST. JOSEPH, MO – The Arkansas Tech women’s tennis team returned to the courts on Sunday and played a pair of matches to open their 2021 spring season. In their opening slate of matches, the Golden Suns took on Southwest Baptist and Missouri Southern, but ultimately fell to both opponents.
Their first match of the day was against Southwest Baptist. The Bearcats, who were ranked No. 15 nationally in the final ITA rankings of 2020, won 6-1 over ATU. In their second match against Missouri Western, the Golden Suns picked up a pair of singles wins at flights four and five, but dropped the overall match 4-2.
The Golden Suns will now prepare for a non-conference match at Ouachita Feb. 6. The first-serve is scheduled for 11 a.m.

Results vs. No. 15 Southwest Baptist
Southwest Baptist 6 – Arkansas Tech 1

Doubles Competition (3,1,2)

  1. Dona Abohabaga/Diana Cabrera (SBU) def. Aastha Dargude/Michelle Khoo (ATU) 7-5
  2. Catarina Zheng/Elsa Pascual (SBU) def. Daniela Baez/Lea Grinberg (ATU) 7-6 (3)
  3. Megan Bell/Isabella Major (ATU) def. Giselle Garcia/Lola Cincunegui (SBU) 6-4

Singles Competition (2,5,4,1,3,6)

  • Dona Abohabaga (SBU) def. Michelle Khoo (ATU) 6-3, 6-0
  • Catarina Zheng (SBU) def. Aastha Dargude (ATU) 6-2, 6-3
  • Diana Cabrera (SBU) def. Lea Grinberg (ATU) 6-2, 5-7, 10-5
  • Elsa Pascual (SBU) def. Daniela Baez (ATU) 6-1, 6-3
  • Lola Cincunegui (SBU) def. Isabella Major (ATU) 6-3, 6-2
  • Megan Bell (ATU) def. Giselle Garcia (SBU) 7-7 (2-0) WR

Results vs. Missouri Western
Missouri Western 4 – Arkansas Tech 2

Doubles Competition (3,2,1)

  • Ionna Lathouri/Anya Chavez (MWSU) def. Michelle Khoo/Aastha Dargude (ATU) 6-4
  • Daniela Baez/Lea Grinberg (ATU) def. Claudia Iglesias/Karolina Strom (MWSU) 6-3
  • Isabella MacGibbon/Nicole Donnelly (MWSU) def. Megan Bell/Isabella Major (ATU) 6-1

Singles Competition (3,5,4,2,6)

  • Michelle Khoo (ATU) vs. Ionna Lathouri (MWSU) 4-7,7-5,UF
  • Karolina Strom (MWSU) def. Lea Grinberg (ATU) 3-6,6-2,6-1
  • Isabella MacGibbon (MWSU) def. Aastha Dargude (ATU) 6-3,6-4
  • Daniela Baez (ATU) def. Anya Chavez (MWSU) 6-3,7-6(4)
  • Megan Bell (ATU) def. Claudia Iglesias (MWSU) 6-4,7-5
  • Rhea Singh (MWSU) def. Isabella Major (ATU) 6-0, 6-1